Los Angeles Lakers Tickets

Buy NBA Tickets

Before they were the Los Angeles Lakers, the Lakers were called the Minneapolis Lakers. The Lakers formed in 1947 and won five championships in Minneapolis. In 1960 the Lakers officially became the Los Angeles Lakers after moving from Minneapolis. The Lakers made the finals six times in the 60s, but they lost everyone to the Boston Celtics. In 1968, the Lakers signed Wilt Chamberlain. Finally, in 1972 the Lakers won their first title in LA and their sixth overall as a franchise.

In the 1974-75 season, the Lakers acquired three-time MVP Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. In 1979 the Lakers drafted Magic Johnson from Michigan State University. Drafting Magic, led to the nickname “Showtime” for the Lakers due to their fast pace, and no-look passes. Magic won the NCAA Championship that season defeating Larry Bird and Indiana State. Bird was drafted by the Boston Celtics and this would rekindle the rivalry between the Lakers and Celtics.

As a rookie, Johnson help led the Lakers to 60 wins and defeat the Philadelphia 76ers in the finals, and was named as the finals MVP. In the 1981-82 season, they swept the Suns and Spurs in the playoffs, then defeated the Sixers once again in the finals. The following the year the Lakers drafted James Worthy, unfortunately he injured his leg in the last week in the season and missed the playoffs. Magic and the Lakers went on to win three more titles and finally beat the Celtics after going 0-8 against them in the finals.

In 1991, Showtime was officially over. The Lakers were defeated by the new face of basketball, Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls, in five games. In the off season, Magic announced his retirement due to testing positive for HIV.

In 1996 the history of the Lakers changed once they traded for 17-year old Kobe Bryant from Charlotte, and then signed Shaquille O’Neal. In the 1999-2000 season the Lakers signed Phil Jackson. The Lakers hit gold as they won three straight finals. First, they defeated the Pacers, then the Sixers, then swept the Nets. After losing to the Spurs in the finals in the next season, Shaq left the team.

In the 2008-09 season, the Lakers made it back to the promise land. After acquiring Derek Fisher and Pau Gasol the season before, the Lakers won 65 games. The Lakers then defeated the Magic to win their 15th title and Kobe won the finals MVP. The following year, the Lakers became the first team to win 3,000 regular season games. The Lakers found the Celtics in the finals, and after being down 3-2 in the series the Lakers won game seven their 16th championship. Kobe was announced as finals MVP.

After playing for 20 seasons, Kobe called it quits and 2015 was his last season. April 13,2016 was his final game in the Staples Center and he went out as a legend. Kobe shot 22-50 and scored 60 points to help defeat the Utah Jazz 101-96.
Magic Johnson became the President of Basketball Operations February 21, 2017 and the first thing he did was draft Lonzo Ball out of UCLA. Ball is now the face of the franchise and the whole city is counting on him to get the Lakers back to the promise land.

Contact Us